Monster mind   Leave a comment

My mind is a hangout for monsters, like a common area in a college dorm.

Monsters of all sizes and shapes roam around, talking with each other, laughing, and wrestling on the floor.  They empty the fridge and leave stains on the furniture.  When they’re tired, they slope off to go to sleep in a row of neatly labeled boxes.  Sometimes, when two or more get friendly with each other, they move in together, and their corresponding boxes merge.

I like things labeled and ordered so I know what to expect – but this rarely works with monsters.  I try to categorize each of them, wrestling them into the shapes I want them to take…and when I turn my back, they spring back to their natural state.

I need to learn to accept them and allow them out in controlled situations but I’ve yet to figure out how to do so and still feel safe.  Maybe that’s the point, though.  Letting the monster out is never safe – it is something we do because we have to, not because we want to.

More thought is probably required, and perhaps more boxes.

Posted February 6, 2012 by veggiewolf in Depression

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

