30 Days of Scent – Day Six – White Sandalwood by Nest   2 comments

Today, I am wearing White Sandalwood eau de parfum by Nest.  It is one of five samples I received when I wrote to Nest asking about their new fine fragrance line.

(Tip: Most perfume manufacturers are happy to send samples if you ask and some retailers, like Nordstrom, carry samples for the public.  Of course, this means actually going in to Nordstrom…which can be intimidating in itself.)

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords for White Sandalwood as woody, almond, warm spicy, balsamic, powdery, and nutty.  The description is fairly brief:

“White Sandalwood by Nest is a Woody Spicy fragrance for men. This is a new fragrance. White Sandalwood was launched in 2013. The fragrance features australian (sic) sandalwood, white sandalwood, spices, white musk and almond.”

Interestingly enough, when I went to Nest’s website, I couldn’t find the fragrance listed and had to go to Sephora.com.  This leads me to believe that the fragrance cannot be bought from the manufacturer any more…and I find that odd for two reasons.  First, the scent just came out in 2013.  Second, it’s a really nice fragrance and I can’t imagine that people disliked it enough to have it discontinued after a year…

While it is listed as a fragrance for men, the sample I received was labelled “unisex”.  On me, White Sandalwood is very fragrant with a woody feel  and musky, but not overpowering which is saying a lot (i usually cannot handle any musk at all).  I don’t get an almond note per se but there’s something nutty in there that I really like once the top notes dissipates.

I do like this fragrance, although it is definitely not for every day (on me, anyway).  It’s a little strong straight out of the gate but very pleasant an hour or two in.  If you’re a sandalwood fan (and I know quite a few people aren’t), I’d give it a whirl.

2 responses to “30 Days of Scent – Day Six – White Sandalwood by Nest

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As far as I know, White Sandalwood is a Sephora exclusive. But it also didn’t get the kind of reviews that others in their line, like Midnight Fleur, did. Their sales of the perfumes on their website is a fairly new thing, because at the time I got my samples, they were selling only the home products on their website, and the perfumes were strictly through Sephora.

Leave a Reply

