30 Days of Scent – Day Seven – L’Ambre des Merveilles by Hermès   3 comments

Today, I am wearing L’Ambre des Merveilles eau de parfum by Hermès.  It is one of two samples sent to me when I wrote to Hermès to ask if I could try one of their fragrances.

(Of interest – Hermès sent me two samples to try…neither of which was the scent I requested.)

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords for L’Ambre des Merveilles as amber, vanilla, balsamic, patchouli, powdery, and animalic.  The description says:

“L’Ambre des Merveilles by Hermès is a Oriental Vanilla fragrance for women and men. This is a new fragrance. L’Ambre des Merveilles was launched in 2012. The nose behind this fragrance is Jean-Claude Ellena. The fragrance features amber, labdanum, vanilla and patchouli.”

I had to look up labdanum –  it is a resin from cistus shrubs that has been used in perfumes and for medicinal purposes for centuries.  Near and dear to my own heart is the description of the pharaohs of Ancient Egypt wearing false beards of goat hair held together by labdanum…which makes me think that L’Ambre des Merveilles might make a nice ritual perfume.

(If you’re at all interested in my religious leanings, I have a blog specific to it.  If not, that’s fine too.)

So…an oriental vanilla fragrance.  I guess I can see that – I do get vanilla from it, along with a spicy underlay which is interesting because spicy is not one of the main accords.  Amber is definitely there, but on me any hint of balsam or patchouli is blunted.  I’m actually surprised by this; I tend to be overwhelmed by patchouli when I wear fragrances with it in.

L’Ambre des Merveilles’ wear-time (sillage)* is quite long.  I put it on two hours ago (at the time of this writing) and it hasn’t dissipated at all.  Based on past wearings, I fully expect to still be actively smelling it at the end of my work day.  I’d recommend it as a special occasion scent: wear it when you want to evoke a particular feeling or memory, or to put yourself in a particular frame of mind.

*Edited, thanks to my fabulous friend who corrected my terminology.  One day, I’ll get the vocabulary down!

3 responses to “30 Days of Scent – Day Seven – L’Ambre des Merveilles by Hermès

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey, quick nitpick: the sillage is the projection, not the longevity. Otherwise, awesome post–I’ve had Eau des Merveilles, and I picked up a sample recently of Eau Claire des Merveilles, along with the other Hermes samples I’ve got (what can I say? I’m a fan!) but haven’t gotten to L’Ambre yet.

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Nine – Orange Sanguine by Atelier Cologne | Eating Monsters

Leave a Reply

