30 Days of Scent – Day Eight – Sel Marin by James Heeley   3 comments

Today, I am wearing Sel Marin eau de parfum by James Heeley.  It’s a (now empty) decant I got from The Perfumed Court.

(Perhaps I need to actually buy this one?)

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords for Sel Marin as marine, aromatic, salty, citrus, and woody.  The description they have up appears to be a paraphrase of the one on the Heeley website, so I’m going to put that one up here instead:

“Sun, sand and sea air

Sun, warm sand and a gentle breeze of fresh sea air. A refreshing and striking note of lemon fades to reveal an aquatic green, algue (sic) note, while vetiver and drift woods of cedar and birch dry slowly in the sand and salty, sea air.

♂ Ocean going sand boys. Jacques Mayol in The Big Blue.
♀ A radiant, natural, beauty. Sun kissed (with bikini lines of course).

Lemon . Italian Bergamot . Beech Leaf
Sea Salt . Moss . Algae
Cedar . Musk . Leather”

I usually hate the over-the-top descriptions on perfume sites but, aside from the typo, this description is right on the money.  Sel Marin has that indefinable quality that the really good salty marine fragrances have – it evokes memory with every whiff.  Putting it on this morning, I was overcome (assaulted?  pun intended!) by images of myself at the beach as a child, then as an adult with the ocean scent drying on my skin, and sand between my toes.  It (for me) is the beach experience in a bottle without the sunscreen notes of CB I Hate Perfume At the Beach 1966 – it’s the Maine coast, with the sea too icy for adults and the marine wind, and every summer vacation I most enjoyed.  It’s whale watching, and sea kayaking, and Acadia National Park.

I love love love this scent (as if you couldn’t tell!) and I clearly need to save my pennies to buy a full-size bottle.  It runs 120,00 € on the Heeley site, and $180 on Lucky Scent.

Leave a Reply

