30 Days of Scent – Day Nine – Jasmine & Bergamote by L’Occitane en Provence   Leave a comment

Today, I am wearing Jasmin & Bergamote eau de toilette by L’Occitane en Provence.  It’s a sample I received from a friend.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords as citrus, white floral, woody, aromatic, and fresh spicy.  Its description of this fragrance focuses more on L’Occitane en Provence than on the scent itself, so here’s one from the L’Occitane en Provence site:

“Evocative of a graceful, sensual dance, Jasmine (sic) & Bergamot Eau de Toilette offers the fragrance of a delicate flower blossoming in the light of dawn. Revealing the many facets of the jasmine flower, this eau de toilette blends absolutes from Grasse and Egypt. The addition of bergamot essential oil from Italy balances this floral fragrance with fruity notes.”

I should start with a disclaimer: I love love love L’Occitane en Provence.  I’ve been to Grasse four times, and I pick up L’Occitane products each time I go to France (they make the best shea butter hand cream, and it used to be slightly cheaper in France than in the US).  There’s also a L’Occitane en Provence boutique 30 minutes from me (note – must go).

So, what can I tell you about Jasmin & Bergamote?  Well, for starters, it is part of La Collection de Grasse, a fragrance group meant to celebrate the uniqueness of Grasse and its location.  I’d never tried any of the scents in the collection prior to receiving this sample,  but now I’d like to try some more (I’ve got my eye on two, actually.  Must send them an email.)

On me, Jasmin & Bergamote is reminiscent of a mixture of Earl Grey and jasmine pearl tea – floral and citrusy without being too much of one or the other.  There’s a spicy element, and with this scent I find that it differs depending on where I put it; behind my ears it is more floral, but on my wrists it is more orange-y.  It will linger on me all day – I daresay it will remain noticeable (if light) until I get into the pool this evening and it washes away on a sea of chlorine.

Jasmin & Bergamote is a fun fragrance, and I cannot think of a situation for which it isn’t suited.  I definitely need to pick up a full bottle once I have some discretionary income – the sample is simply not enough.

Leave a Reply

