30 Days of Scent – Day Ten – Nirvana White by Elizabeth and James   3 comments

Today, I am wearing Nirvana White eau de parfum by Elizabeth and James.  I own it in a roller ball that I ordered from Sephora.com after receiving a recommendation from a friend.  And, it’s a good thing I did – Nirvana White (and its sister scent, Nirvana Black) are exclusive to Sephora.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords as floral, fresh, musky, rose, and green.  The description says: “…Nirvana White is a musky – floral fragrance composed of peony, lily of the valley and musk, signed by Honorine Blanc…”

(I took a look at the other perfumes Honorine Blanc worked on, but I’ve not tried any of them.)

While looking up information for this post, I stumbled across what appears to be a controversy over the roller ball delivery system.  Some people maintain that roller balls bring skin in direct contact with the perfume, thereby contaminating what remains in the bottle.  I saw some people talking about buying roller balls then taking them apart to remove the contents and re-bottle it.  If anyone knows more about this whole thing, and has an opinion they’d like to share, let me know!

So, Nirvana White.  On its own, I think it smells like the peonies that grow behind my house, heavy with scent; not just the flower part of the peony, mind you, but the entire plant – blossom, leaf, and stem.  When I put it on, I’m transported to the conservatory at Longwood Gardens – my skin makes both the floral quality and the green quality come out.

I like this scent very much, and I’m glad for my $20 splurge on it.

3 responses to “30 Days of Scent – Day Ten – Nirvana White by Elizabeth and James

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My thoughts on the whole rollerball thing: If your skin’s clean, it won’t contaminate. If your skin’s not clean, you’ve got bigger problems than the perfume. What’s more likely to happen is that because the rollerball isn’t airtight, exposure to air over time may cause the fragrance to turn rancid, but I have rollerballs I’ve had for two years that haven’t turned, so I’m not super worried about it. I think people may be confusing the fact that they’re taking their rollerballs in their purses, in the car, in all kinds of changes of temperature and humidity, for “oh noes, my skin contaminated it!” I mean, how many of the old splash bottles had dabbers in them? And you still hear about people buying vintage splashes and wearing them. It’s all in how you take care of it.

    • Thank you so much! I knew you’d have an opinion, and the Nirvana White is the first rollerball I’ve owned.

      • I’ve got that, Stella by Stella McCartney, Pure Grace by Philosophy, and Parfume d’Extase by Marchesa. I really like buying rollerballs, because I have so many scents that it’s hard to justify a full bottle.

Leave a Reply

