30 Days of Scent – Day Twelve – Dazzling Silver by Estée Lauder   2 comments

Yesterday, I wore Dazzling Silver eau de parfum by Estée Lauder.  I own two full-size bottles of this scent (one open, one still in box that is put away in a drawer).

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords as floral, green, white floral, aldehydic, and fruity.  The description notes:

“The fragrance starts with dewy exotic flowers: lily, wild lotus, Japanese mountain orchid. The heart of the composition is made of rare purple vanilla orchid, Sunset orchid, passion flower and rose. The base notes are magnolia, lily and sandalwood. The nose behind this fragrance is Evelyn Lauder.”

For years, Dazzling Silver was one of my two signature scents (the other was Poison, by Dior.)  It was launched in 1998 and I’ve been wearing it since that time…and I was furious when they discontinued it.  So were a bunch of other people – you can see some of that here.  I tend to love Estée Lauder fragrances, and other products, so I am not boycotting them over the discontinuation, but it’s still frustrating.

Some people think Dazzling Silver is a winter scent, or an evening one, but I’ve worn it in all seasons and (almost) all situations and cannot think of a single one it didn’t fit.  This scent just misses the ice queen mark for me – there’s something about the mix of greenness and florals that really works without making it too cold.  It has a sparkle to it as well and it projects nicely with only one or two squirts (I tend to do one on the back of my neck and one for my wrists.)  On me, Dazzling Silver is Phalaenopsis orchid mixed with day lily (the kind my grandmother grew) and a hint of dry champagne.

As it is discontinued, Estée Lauder no longer sells Dazzling Silver, and The Perfumed Court does not offer it as an option for decant.  You can still buy it on eBay and Amazon, but prices have (naturally) inflated – expect to pay $100 or more.

2 responses to “30 Days of Scent – Day Twelve – Dazzling Silver by Estée Lauder

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Scent – Day Fifteen – Sensuous Nude by Estée Lauder | Eating Monsters

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Two – Tory Burch by Tory Burch | Eating Monsters

Leave a Reply

