30 Days of Scent – Day Fourteen – Extravagance d’Amarige by Givenchy   Leave a comment

Today, I am wearing Extravagance d’Amarige eau de toilette by Givenchy.  It’s a decant I got from The Perfumed Court, and I chose it because Extravagance d’Amarige is one of those classic fragrances everyone should wear at least once.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords as sweet, herbal, aromatic, floral, and citrus.  The description reads:

“Extravagance d’Amarige with its floral composition has been on the market since 1998. It was launched 7 years after the first Amarige fragrance, as a sequel of a love story dedicated to an eccentric, provocative and mysterious young woman. The designer behind this perfume is Michel Girard. It opens with the notes of mandarin blossom, violet petals and pink pepper, goes through the heart of Wisteria flower, jasmine, neroli and wild strawberry. The bottom notes introduce warm sandalwood to the composition, as well as cedar and black iris. Serge Mansau made the bottle to be elegant, resembling of its precursor Amerige (sic). It is available as 30, 50 and 100 ml EDT.”

I actually forgot that I had this decant until I went looking for something to wear this morning and pulled it out…and now that I have it on, I’m wondering how I could’ve forgotten how good it is.  It’s both floral and fruity without being too sweet, and the scent doesn’t feel overpowering.  I put it on all my pulse points this morning, and at the nape of my neck…and in the creases at my elbows.  I don’t usually douse myself in perfume quite like this, but there’s something about this fragrance…

On me, I get the fruit notes more than the floral ones, but no citrus at all.  I smell like a pint of fresh wild strawberries with a slight underlay of violet…and I’m looking forward to seeing whether the neroli emerges as the day goes on.  So far, though, I’m enjoying it very much…although I’m wondering how difficult it will be to find a full-size bottle if I decide I want to get more once the decant is empty.

 

 

Leave a Reply

