30 Days of Scent – Day Fifteen – Sensuous Nude by Estée Lauder   Leave a comment

Today, I am wearing Sensuous Nude eau de parfum spray by Estée Lauder.  It’s a sample I received when a friend of mine sent me a bottle of another Estée Lauder scent.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Sensuous Nude as coconut, woody, vanilla, sweet, tropical, and powdery.  The description reads:

“a new version of the original perfume Sensuous from 2008. The new fragrance continues tradition of feminine and tame compositions leaving a cuddling and honey-sweet trail on woman’s skin. Composition of the new editions opens with a luminous citrusy blend of Sicilian bergamot and mandarin spiced with bitterish and insolent trace of black and pink pepper. After the spicy citrusy-bitter start, the composition develops with floral nuances composed of jasmine petals and lily of the valley, refreshed with gentle exotic aromas of coconut water and sweetened honey drops and sensual musk veil. A base leaves a warm trail combined of sandalwood, vanilla, amber, heliotrope and woody notes…”

Let me start with a disclaimer: I am an Estée Lauder woman (if you couldn’t tell from my post about Dazzling Silver.)  I use their make-up, and their skin care products.  The first perfumes I ever owned were by them, and when I was a little girl all I wanted was what I called the “Estée Lauder Paint Box” – the special make-up kit they offer around Christmastime.  I’ll admit, I’ve gone over to the dark side (Clinique) a few times (have you tried the Almost Lipstick in Black Honey???) but Estée Lauder is my main brand, and I don’t see myself changing for anyone or anything.  Even when they upset me (again, see my Dazzling Silver post), I’m still loyal.

That said, I wasn’t sure I’d like Sensuous Nude.  It’s not my standard Estée Lauder experience – I like their white florals, and their green scents, and Sensuous Nude is not that.  And yet…there’s something about the nuttiness and the wood and the teeny tiny hint of jasmine that really appeals to me.

I put it on my wrists today, and I am a coconut bobbing up and down on the water in a mangrove forest.  The vanilla notes are slightly salty, adding to the feel of being somewhere tropical. I am calm, on a placid sea, and everything is peaceful.

I definitely need to get a full bottle of this one!

 

Leave a Reply

