30 Days of Scent – Day Sixteen – Alien by Thierry Mugler   4 comments

Today, I am wearing Alien eau de parfum by Thierry Mugler.  I got it as a sample with an order I received from Sephora.com.

(The sample is a mini-spray bottle, but the atomizer doesn’t work.  I removed it, and applied the scent by hand.)

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords for Alien as white floral, amber, woody, animalic, and balsamic.  The description of the scent notes:

“…Alien is a magic elixir captured in a bottle in the shape of a strange object, reminiscent of philosophers’ stone or some warlock object of a deep and mysterious purple color. Its woman has to be a bit of a witch.

The creators of Aline (sic) based the composition on three main lines: warm white amber in the base, woodsy notes in the heart, and sunny Indian jasmine in the top.

Alien was launched in 2005. Alien was created by Dominique Ropion and Laurent Bruyere.”

(A magic elixir?  Okaaaaay…)

I am a major fan of a different kind of Alien…

Isn’t it adorable?

…so the name of this fragrance made me eager to try it.

The first thing I noticed about Alien was the jasmine – it packs a punch right out of the bottle but at the same time it is not heavy-handed.  The amber is also evident at first, and there’s a feral undertone in the scent. I can see how it isn’t for everyone; despite the tagline of bringing “…out the solar goddess in every woman” I know it won’t work for lots of people.  It’s too…personal feeling.

On me, Alien is slightly powdery mixed with jasmine to start, and then fades to a more primal and amber tone.  I think it’s probably best as an evening scent  – say, on a sultry, humid night.  It actually reminds me of New Orleans, and stalking through the French Quarter in search of something.

Or, someone.

 

4 responses to “30 Days of Scent – Day Sixteen – Alien by Thierry Mugler

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What’s strange about Alien is that on me, the particular jasmine accord they use does an odd grape thing. Serge Lutens Daim Blond does the same. I like Alien Essence Absolue, though, and I’m looking forward to trying Alien Extraordinaire.

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Nineteen – London by Burberry | Eating Monsters

  3. Pingback: 30 Days of Scent – Day Nine – Alien Essence Absolue by Thierry Mugler | Eating Monsters

Leave a Reply

