30 Days of Scent – Day Eighteen – Mr. Hulot’s Holiday by CB I Hate Perfume   1 comment

Today (yesterday, at time of writing this) I wore Mr Hulot’s Holiday water perfume by CB I Hate Perfume.  It is a decant I ordered from The Perfumed Court.

(Have I convinced anyone to try The Perfumed Court yet?)

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords for Mr Hulot’s Holiday as marine, salty, aromatic, woody, and leather.  Their description of this scent notes:

“Mr. Hulot’s Holiday is one of the favorite movies of Christopher Brosius. The perfume dedicated to this movie is features salty breath of the Mediterranean breeze, driftwood, rocks covered with seaweed and the smell of old leather suitcases.

“It is available as 2 and 15 ml perfume absolute, 100 ml water perfume and 150 ml home spray. Mr Hulot’s Holiday was launched in 2004.”

While not as salty, despite the listed accords, as Sel Marin or At The Beach 1966, Mr Hulot’s Holiday does have that “day at the beach” feel.  There are no sunscreeny notes, and the leather element is very present, along with another something that makes me think of “male chest, complete with chest hair, right out of the ocean”.  Even with that, though, I think Mr Hulot’s Holiday will work for any gender.  It’s not over-the-top in any direction – just a blend of elements that make for an overall nice scent.

On me, Mr Hulot’s Holiday is marine and leather, with a hint of salt around the edges.  It actually reminds me of a trip I took to Ocean City, NJ with a friend/lover from the Netherlands when I was in my early twenties.  Sand, surf, and sex with an underlay of really enjoying each other’s company and being able to hold a conversation.

(Funnily enough, that friend/lover just contacted me on LinkedIn…right after I put on this fragrance.)

One response to “30 Days of Scent – Day Eighteen – Mr. Hulot’s Holiday by CB I Hate Perfume

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Twenty-Six – Aqua Motu by Comptoir Sud Pacifique | Eating Monsters

Leave a Reply

