30 Days of Scent – Day Nineteen – Pleasures Eau Fraîche by Estée Lauder   Leave a comment

Today, I am wearing Pleasures Eau Fraîche eau de parfum spray by Estée Lauder.  I own a full bottle of this scent, given to me as a Christmas gift.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords for Pleasures Eau Fraîche as floral, white floral, fresh, soft spicy, and rose.  The description on Fragrantica’s site says:

“…Modern composition accentuates delicate floral notes while adding sophisticated, elegant and leisure note to the scent.

“Estée Lauder Pleasures Eau Fraîche will be the perfect fragrant companion for hot summer days.

Intertwining floral notes will please all sense with characteristic cold and elegant charm of lily, softened with gentle, romantic peony notes. Jasmine also provides elegant trail along with a discrete does of challenge along with flirtatious pink pepper, tingling the imagination discretely…”

This is, actually, a really good scent when it is oppressively hot outside.  It cuts through what I like to call the “dog’s mouth of summer” (read: hot with 80% humidity, like we get here outside of Philadelphia in August) with spiciness and floral notes that are pretty without being “shove your FACE into this FLOWER”. strong.  It’s not a weak scent, however – the projection is such that I can usually get away with one spray to the back of my neck and everyone around me can still smell it.  I imagine two sprays would mean that you wouldn’t want to be in an elevator with me, lest Pleasures Eau Fraîche steal your soul.

I like this fragrance, despite the fine line I have to walk not to overdo it.  On me, the scent is mainly spicy and white floral, although the rose comes through a little bit at the beginning (and more as the spiciness wears off).  There’s also a green tinge here – I suspect it is the violet leaf – that really gets to me.  When I wear it, I feel like the humidity can’t touch me…and it doesn’t hurt that more moisture in the air seems to bring out more of the spiciness I like so much.

Estée Lauder, you’ve done it again.

Leave a Reply

