30 Days of Scent – Day Twenty-One – Do Son by Diptyque   Leave a comment

Today, I am wearing Do Son eau de parfum by Diptyque.  I received a decant of this as a gift from a reader.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords as white floral, tuberose, animalic, rose, balsamic, and musky.  Their description of Do Son says:

“Do Son by Diptyque is a Floral fragrance for women. Do Son was launched in 2005. The nose behind this fragrance is Fabrice Pellegrin. Top notes are african orange flower, rose and iris; middle notes are tuberose and pink pepper; base notes are benzoin and musk”

Interestingly enough, the description from Diptyque disagrees:

“Tuberose asserts itself, expressing all its sunny, hazy, creamy, indolent seductiveness. Anyone with blood in their veins will succumb to the irresistible temptation of this insolently seductive white flower…”

Before putting it on this morning, I’d never smelled Do Son, and I deliberately didn’t look up any information about it until I was already wearing it.  In fact, I tried to guess the accords from smelling it on me…and I was off.  WAY off.  I got the floral piece (although I was thinking of honeysuckle rather than tuberose) and the animalic bit, but I also thought salty and green.  Officially?  There’s no salt element and no green element, unless you consider that maybe the tuberose includes stem and leaf?

I get no orange flower and no iris and no pink pepper.  There’s a hint of musk…I think?…but it seems more like a white musk than anything else.  I’m now thinking I need to go back and smell it out of the decant directly to see if I can get any of the other notes.

On me, Do Son is honeysuckle (tuberose?) and salt – almost like someone tried to transplant their tangled garden from a home in the suburbs to a seaside community.  I like it – it fits in with the type of scents that generally work for me – despite it bearing no resemblance to the descriptions that are meant to help us find a scent.

Of course, it’s likely that my skin is what’s bending Do Son out of shape.

Leave a Reply

