30 Days of Scent – Day Twenty-Four – Chanel N°5   4 comments

Today, I am wearing Chanel N°5 eau de parfum.  It’s (almost) the last of a decant I ordered from The Perfumed Court.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords as aldehydic, woody, powdery, musky, citrus, and floral.  The description of Chanel N°5 on Fragrantica is long and descriptive, and you can read it yourself here.  But, here’s a taste of a couple of paragraphs:

“…Chanel N°5 is the first perfume in the floral-aldehyde group and the first by the quantity of aldehydes in its composition (another legend says that the Ernest Beaux‘s assistant overdosed the aldehydes in the composition by mistake). The top notes are composed of aldehydes, bergamot, lemon, neroli and ylang-ylang, the heart of jasmine, rose, lily of the valley and iris, while the base is created of vetiver, sandalwood, vanilla, amber and patchouli…”

I can’t think of a more legendary or classic fragrance than this one.  I’ve wanted to own it since I was in high school and had a friend whose mother wore it as her signature fragrance.  Her closet was infused with the scent, and she used to let me sample from her bottle (THE GIANT BOTTLE!) so that I could put a dab behind each ear.  That, she said, was the secret to wearing perfume.  I’m not sure how a dab behind each ear led to a closet permeated with the scent, though.

(I suspect she wore it on other parts of her body…or on her clothing, directly.  Or maybe she just had the scented body lotion as well.  Who knows?)

I…can’t pull out any one note to examine from Chanel N°5; it’s too caught up in memory and emotion for me to pick out a single thing.  I’ve never owned this scent in anything larger than a sample and it breaks my heart, but even the teeny bottle (7.5 mL) is over $100* and I just can’t see paying as much for a tiny bottle of something that I could for multiple bottles of other things.

Oh well.  Chanel N°5, I love you.  Maybe I can convince someone to give you to me for Christmas.

*see comments section – the 7.5 mL is actually the pure parfum, which explains the expense!  Thank you for the correction!

4 responses to “30 Days of Scent – Day Twenty-Four – Chanel N°5

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The 7.5ml isn’t actually EDP. That’s the pure partum concentration. The EDP runs $98 for 50 ml.

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Seventeen – N°22 by Chanel | Eating Monsters

  3. Pingback: 30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Thirty – Bois des Iles by Chanel | Eating Monsters

Leave a Reply

