30 Days of Scent – Day Twenty-Seven – Jour d’Hermès by Hermès   5 comments

Today, I am wearing Jour d’Hermès eau de parfum by Hermès.  It’s a sample they sent me after I emailed to request a sample of 24, Faubourg.

(No, I didn’t receive 24, Faubourg.  Instead, I received this scent and L’Ambre des Merveilles.)

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Jour d’Hermès as white floral, citrus, green, musky, and aquatic.  They go on to note that:

“…The scent is luminous, sensual and floral… Jour d’Hermes was launched in 2013. The nose behind this fragrance is Jean-Claude Ellena.”

(In the interest of accuracy, I snipped the bits in the description that described the sizes available, and that there are a multitude of products in the line.)

There’s a lovely little video on the Hermès corporate site that goes into some more detail about the fragrance…I happened upon it by chance.  Of the tiles on the screen, it is the last tile on the right in the second to last row of tiles.  At the end, there’s a description of what Jour d’Hermès is meant to convey and although it isn’t very specific, the description is accurate.  Simply put, Jour d’Hermès is meant to be the light in every woman – that spark that makes each of us an individual.

“…And this light which brings to light all the beauty of women and their infinite forms of expression every day, this birth is what Hermès has captured as an essence to create the most essential of perfumes.  Jour d’Hermès.”

It sounds pretty, but again there’s not much in there to tell me about what makes up this fragrance.  So, I went looking for something (anything) specific…and was surprised to find out that Ellena (the nose behind the fragrance) deliberately left out note descriptions from the press release…wanting people to come up with their own ideas as to what makes Jour d’Hermès unique.

Now, I’m not nearly confident enough to think that my own impression of this fragrance is definitive…and yet, knowing that the person behind it wants us each to find our own level with it makes me feel okay about potentially “getting it wrong”.  So, here’s where I’ll say that Jour d’Hermès is very white floral, and very green, and actually reminds me of the chrysanthemums my grandmother occasionally had in her house – large white ones with drooping flower heads.  Within all that green, and the aquatic note of…something?…there’s a slight nasal bitterness that is (strangely) pleasant.

On me, Jour d’Hermès is dappled sunlight on leaves after a rainstorm.  The staying power is excellent – I typically get 4-5 hours before I actively have to hold my wrist to my nose to smell it, and the projection is pleasant without being overwhelming.  Compliments that are genuine, not in the vein of “and could you tone it down a bit?”

 

 

 

5 responses to “30 Days of Scent – Day Twenty-Seven – Jour d’Hermès by Hermès

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mmm, indeed JDH smells very white floral, almost as white floral as blooming tuberose and gardenia to me. Yet, there is something so warmly resinous about it, like its golden colour liquid.

    Did you request for 24 Faubourg EDT or EDP? I greatly enjoyed the EDP for it is a powerhouse frag that reminds me of no-nonsense, career-driven women who also have a certain elegance about them. 🙂

  2. As much of a fan of Hermes scents as I am (with the exception of the Jardin line–Jardin Sur Le Toit and Jardin Sur Le Nil both dried down to a “wet dog” vibe on me), I haven’t tried JDH yet, but you’ve inspired me. While you’re trying Hermes fragrances, try Kelly Caleche in EDP. It’s gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

