30 Days of Scent – Day Twenty-Nine – Quelques Fleurs L’Original by Houbigant   Leave a comment

Today, I am wearing Quelques Fleurs L’Original eau de parfum by Houbigant.  It’s a decant I ordered from The Perfumed Court.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of this scent as floral, white floral, citrus, powdery, green, and woody.  The description they have of Quelques Fleurs L’Original reads:

“Quelques Fleurs l`Original by Houbigant is a Floral fragrance for women. Quelques Fleurs l`Original was launched in 1913. The nose behind this fragrance is Robert Bienaime. Top notes are orange blossom, green notes, tarragon, bergamot, lemon and citruses; middle notes are carnation, tuberose, orchid, lilac, orris root, jasmine, heliotrope, ylang-ylang, lily-of-the-valley, rose, violet and iris; base notes are sandalwood, tonka bean, amber, musk, civet, oakmoss, honey and vanilla.”

Quelques Fleurs L’Original is what I’d call a Classic scent (there’s probably another name for this category of perfumes).  It doesn’t have one particular note that sticks out, and there’s a powdery thing going on that makes me think of my grandmother’s dressing table – powder puff, little glass bottles, and antique mirror.  There are a LOT of flowers in this fragrance and they blend with one another very nicely, and civet underlies it all as a foundation of sorts.

I’ve been wearing this scent on and off since I received the decant and I still don’t know if I like it or not.  On the one hand, it’s soft and pleasant and makes me feel feminine and dainty.  On the other hand, I am more of a sensual woman than a delicate flower…and I just don’t think this scent conveys who I am.  It’s nice, don’t get me wrong, but it just…there’s something about it on my skin that is a little discordant.

Leave a Reply

