30 Days of Scent Returns! Day One – Viva La Juicy by Juicy Couture   1 comment

Well, gentle readers, you’ve asked, and I’m delivering: 30 Days of Scent is returning, by popular demand.

(Also, I might have been challenged to do it again by my friend at Style 704!)

So, here we go!  Day One!

Today, I am wearing Viva La Juicy Eau de Parfum by Juicy Couture.  It was part of a perfume sample pack I bought from Sephora.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords as sweet, white floral, caramel, vanilla, citrus, and fruity.  Their description of Viva La Juicy says:

“…The perfume Viva la Juicy was presented as a gourmet floral fragrance, which opens with notes of wild berries and juicy mandarin. The heart encompasses a floral blend of honeysuckle, gardenia and jasmine, while the base notes await us with a gourmet rhapsody of amber, caramel, vanilla, sandalwood and pralines…”

I don’t think the description of Viva La Juicy is entirely accurate, but it’s not really inaccurate either.  On me, I don’t get berries or mandarin – the fruit note is more peach with hints of nectarine.  The floral is definitely strong honeysuckle, which I love, but the base is more general sweetness than anything hinting of caramel or vanilla.  I can see how someone with different skin chemistry might get a burnt sugar note, though – it’s like I can sense it out of the corner of my eye (nose?) but if I try to face it head-on it disappears.

Honestly, the first thing I thought of when I put it on was my ex-girlfriend, who always smelt sweet and fruity.  I have no idea what scents she wears (I should ask her!), but Viva La Juicy on my skin reminds me of how her neck smelt when we were cuddling on the couch, or just laid up in bed together.  Because of this scent memory, though, I am also associating innocence and naïveté with it…and I’m just so not either of those things that I don’t think I’ll be wearing it very often.  And yet, it’s a pleasant scent, and I like it overall.

Maybe the best thing to do is give my sample to someone else, and invite them over so I can smell their neck and be transported back into those cuddling moments.  Do you think randomly spraying people with it to see if it works would be a problem?

Viva La Juicy eau de parfum – Juicy Couture

One response to “30 Days of Scent Returns! Day One – Viva La Juicy by Juicy Couture

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That fruity-white floral-caramel thing is kind of a signature for Juicy Couture, and it’s found in a lot of their scents. You’d probably get more enjoyment out of the original Juicy Couture, or Eau de Couture, because they have big tuberose notes I think you’d like.

Leave a Reply

