30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Two – Tory Burch by Tory Burch   1 comment

Today, I am wearing Tory Burch Eau de Parfum by Tory Burch.  It was part of a perfume sample pack I bought from Sephora.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords as citrus, floral, fresh, woody, and white floral.  Their description of Tory Burch says:

“…Tory Burch opens with notes of grapefruit, pink pepper, currant buds and leaves, mandarin and neroli. The heart blooms with peony, tuberose, mimosa, jasmine, carrot seed and sweet alyssum, on a base composed of vetiver, cedar, sandalwood and white musk. …”

Tory Burch reminds me a bit of Dazzling Silver, even though the notes aren’t identical, and Karyn Khoury of Estée Lauder actually helped Tory Burch create this fragrance.  Since Dazzling Silver is one of my favorite all-time scents, I am always looking for something that can replace it when I eventually run out.  Tory Burch is, well, nearly there; I can’t tell if the citrus is a help or a hindrance at this point, and I think I’ll have to wear it a few more times before I figure it out.

(As an aside, isn’t it a shame when manufacturers discontinue perfectly good products for no reason???  Ahem.)

Some people seem to think it reminds them of Happy by Clinique.  I’ve actually never tried Happy, and so I can’t compare the two, but I’d be thrilled if someone else has and could chime in here.

(I know – one of my greatest failings as a scent nerd is that I’ve actually not tried a lot of the traditional mainstream scents out there.  Guess I need to go to Nordstrom’s and load up on samples.)

On my skin, the grapefruit and mandarin are evident but more as a general citrus effect than as individual notes.  The white floral is definitely there, though, and it is gorgeous (you know how I love my white florals!)  Since I just put it on a few hours ago, I’m not getting all of the base notes – no sandalwood or cedar, some white musk, and some vetiver that feels like an olfactory afterthought.  I’m interested to see what it’s like in a few more hours, though – it may get better with time.

On Sephora, the 1 oz parfum spray will set you back $65.  If you’re not sure about getting it, the rollerball is $28…but you could also do what I do and get a decant (I found a 1mL glass vial for $3.99, although I can’t vouch for the decanting site), or go pick up a sample at your favorite department store.  It’s always better to try before shelling out the big bucks, after all!

Tory Burch by Tory Burch

One response to “30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Two – Tory Burch by Tory Burch

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The thing that makes it remind me of Happy is that big citrus opening. I thought Tory a Burch was better quality, though–I’ve been over Happy since high school, when a lot of my friends had it.

Leave a Reply

