30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Four – Flowerbomb by Viktor & Rolf   1 comment

Yesterday, I wore Flowerbomb eau de parfum by Viktor & Rolf.  It was part of a perfume sampler pack I bought from Sephora.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords as floral, patchouli, white floral, green, and citrus.  Their description of the scent says:

“…Top notes tingle with fresh and sweet accords of bergamot and green tea.

A heart is floral and opulent with intensive, sweet and pure Sambac jasmine, seductive Centifolia rose, freesia and Cattleya orchid. Musk and patchouli in a base wrap us with an oriental scent, while its milky and powdery notes gently fondle our skin…

I don’t even know where to begin with this one.  To start, I’d already worn Flowerbomb when I first got the sampler pack and I hated it.  I told a friend of mine that it smelt like the place musk goes to die.  A bit strong, sure, but you all know I don’t mince words.  I decided to try it again on the off-chance that, perhaps, it mixed with the ever-present chlorine smell on my skin to form something noxious, and that it might be different this time around.

Ummm…NO.  Just no.  Patchouli and musk do NOT work on me, and Flowerbomb isn’t anything like its description on Fragrantica if it comes anywhere near me.  I get no floral notes from it at all, nor citrus, nor anything resembling a green accord.  It’s patchouli, patchouli, patchouli, MUSK to the point of slapping me in the face and asking what the fuck I was thinking to try it a second time.  Have I not learned anything???

Of course, like all scents, what doesn’t work on me works really well on other people – my friend at Style 704 can wear it without a problem and, judging by the positive reviews out there AND the fact that it is a best-seller, there are a lot of people out there for whom it is a wonderful scent.  I get it – I really do.  Problem is, though, that my own view of it will be forever tainted by the fact that it tried to attack me.  Seriously.  It tried to bite my face.

I’ve not given up on Viktor & Rolf entirely – they’ve got an aquatic scent I really want to try.  However, I’ll be staying away from anything combining the words “flower” and “bomb” in the future.

Flowerbomb by Viktor & Rolf

One response to “30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Four – Flowerbomb by Viktor & Rolf

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Nineteen – London by Burberry | Eating Monsters

Leave a Reply

