30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Seven – Japanese Cherry Blossom by Bath and Body Works   5 comments

Today, I am wearing Japanese Cherry Blossom by Bath and Body Works.  Specifically, I have layered the scented Ultra Shea Body Cream and the Fine Fragrance Mist.  I was actually gifted these products for Christmas by one of my swimming clients.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of this scent as floral, woody, fruity, musky, and fresh.  Their description of Japanese Cherry Blossom says:

“…Japanese Cherry Blossom by Bath and Body Works is a Floral fragrance for women. Top notes are plum, pear and apple; middle notes are mimosa, tuberose, lily, kyoto rose petals and japanese cherry blossom; base notes are sandalwood, amber, patchouli, cinnamon, himalayan cedar, musk, vanilla and oakmoss…”

Before I get into describing this scent, I’d like to say a word or two about scented lotions.   Now, I am a lotion user, mostly in the winter, but also after swimming, and I believe the purpose of body lotion is to moisturize the skin rather than to deliver fragrance.  In fact, if you’d asked me last year, I’d have sworn by all that is holy that I’d lose my mind if I received another scented body lotion as a gift, and cried out for some ordinary Lubriderm.  For Christmas 2013, I was given Modern Muse body lotion and was bitterly disappointed despite loving that scent.

And then, this year I discovered layering a scented lotion with perfume of the same scent, and became hooked.  Specifically, I asked Santa to bring me Sensuous Nude, and he brought the eau de parfum spray and the body veil…and one cold day I decided to try them together.  It was amazing – my skin was moisturized and I received compliments on my fragrance.  Then I tried it with Modern Muse with the same results.

I’m still not completely sold on scented lotion as anything other than a fragrance delivery system though – I think I’ve smelt one too many women drowning in sweet pea or vanilla sugar something-or-other.  So, I’ll use it layered with a perfume, but give me my unscented Lubriderm or Eucerin for après-swim moisturizing.

So – Japanese Cherry Blossom.  It’s actually more complicated than I thought it would be – the florals are most prominent, then the cedar and sandalwood, and there’s a fruity thing going on in the background.  Fragrantica is more on target with the accords than the description – I don’t get fruit in the top notes at all, but I’d definitely describe this scent as floral and woody.  There’s a hint of musk, but it doesn’t try to leap out and eat my face.

On my skin, Japanese Cherry Blossom is, of course, cherry blossom, then tuberose and something jasmine-like, with cedar and sandalwood.  It’s not your typical flower-fruit B&BW fragrance; everything blends together in harmony without any significant outliers.  I’d definitely recommend it (but try before you buy!), and at $27.00 the duo I use is a steal.

Japanese Cherry Blossom by Bath and Body Works Fine Fragrance Mist

Japanese Cherry Blossom by Bath and Body Works Ultra Shea Body Cream

5 responses to “30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Seven – Japanese Cherry Blossom by Bath and Body Works

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Another that I’ve really enjoyed from Bath and Body Works is Twilight Woods. I used to love Forever Midnight, but they’ve discontinued it now, along with the Dark Kiss lotion I used to layer with it.

Leave a Reply

