30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Nine – Orange Sanguine by Atelier Cologne   1 comment

Today, I am wearing Orange Sanguine Cologne Absolue by Atelier Cologne.  I received it as a free sample when purchasing something else from Sephora.

(For anyone who doesn’t know, this is how the name of the company is pronounced: Atelier.)

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Orange Sanguine as citrus, sweet, fruity, aromatic, and fresh spicy.  They have this to say about this fragrance:

“…Orange Sanguine, which belongs to the collection Absolue Cologne, is a refreshing and energetic fragrance of fresh fruits laid on a sensual, oriental base. It contains notes of red orange, bitter orange, jasmine, geranium from South Africa, amber, tonka bean and sandalwood…”

The nose behind Orange Sanguine is Ralf Schwieger, who also designed a number of fragrances for Hermès, including Eau de Merveilles which I’ve been meaning to try since realizing that I liked L’Ambre des Merveilles last year.  Guess I need to find an Hermès counter near me…or someone who has one who wants to send me a sample.

*hint hint*

A word about the manufacturer, Atelier Cologne: they are noted to be the first perfume house dedicated solely to colognes, which they call “genuine pure perfume” and note as traditionally made with citruses.  As I love citrus (I know, you’re shocked), I am definitely going to be checking out their other scents…perhaps through one of their lovely sample packs.

(Incidentally, you can get any of their postcard samples for $3/each.)

So, this scent is meant to evoke sun, and heat, and (of course) oranges on the air, and it came with a lovely postcard of what appears to be the South of France.  I can picture it in those surroundings actually – sea air, baking rocks, and citrus fruit.  In fact, I’m wondering what would happen if I layered it with a salty beachy scent like Sel Marin or one of CB I Hate Perfume’s marine scents.

Atelier recommends layering Orange Sanguine with Vanille Insensée, and I have a sample pack that includes both colognes at home.  I’ll probably try this at some point, depending on how Vanille Insensée works on me.

On me, Orange Sanguine is orange, layered with orange peel, layered with blood orange.  There’s a hint of the jasmine, which I love, and just the slightest bit of sandalwood.  Having worn this scent before, I know the sandalwood will last the longest and still be with me at the end of the day and so will the orange peel, which means it will go from citrus and fruit to slightly bitter and aromatic.  In fact, it triggers thoughts of whether Orange Sanguine is what orange bitters would be if made into a scent…and since I am a fan of bitters this can only be a good thing.

I wonder if there’s a Campari cologne out there…

Orange Sanguine Cologne Absolue by Atelier Cologne

One response to “30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Nine – Orange Sanguine by Atelier Cologne

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Hint hint,” says the person who was supposed to email me her address and hasn’t.

Leave a Reply

