30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Ten – Grand Amour by Annick Goutal   1 comment

Today, I am wearing Grand Amour by Annick Goutal.  It’s from a decant sent to me by a friend…and I’m not sure if it is the EDP or the EDT.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Grand Amour as white floral, floral, green, rose, fresh spicy, and animalic.  Their description of this scent says:

“…The composition is based on three accords: floral, amber, and musk. In the floral bouquet, lily, honeysuckle, and hyacinth lead the way to Turkish rose, French jasmine, and Indian mimosa, with a touch of fruity notes. Oriental accord (amber) is represented by the notes of amber, vanilla and myrrh. In the base the sensual musk united with precious rare balsams create a very long trace…”

Grand Amour was created in 1997, and the story is that it was designed to represent Goutal’s love for her husband, who brought her a bouquet of white flowers every week.  It is meant to be a fragrance that “…is like her, goes with her, and speaks of love because “love is everything…””

As you’ll notice, Fragrantica’s description of the scent and their list of its accords don’t match 100%.  I think, in this case, it’s okay, though – Grand Amour’s complexity is actually somewhere between the two.  The floral accord leans more toward white floral (as I’d expect), but it’s not completely one thing or the other, and there’s definitely a powdery feeling to Grand Amour that I usually get from iris-based scents…I’m thinking it’s the hyacinth, but am not entirely sure.  The amber accord is noticeable even from the start, and it isn’t overwhelming; it adds a depth to the scent that wouldn’t be there otherwise.  The musk, though…I don’t know if it just isn’t prominent or if, for some reason, Grand Amour isn’t doing the usual thing musks do for me.  I can barely sense it at all.

On my skin, Grand Amour is hyacinth (iris?) and lily with a touch of something that feels like a blend of honeysuckle and magnolia.  There’s an underlay of powder that gives it a slightly old-fashioned feel, but not so old-fashioned that it feels out of place today, and the amber bolsters the entire thing.

I’m not honestly sure how I feel about Grand Amour.  I know I like it better at this time of year than I did in the summer – it was almost cloying in the humidity – but I can’t decide if it is a keeper or not.  I’ve worn it half a dozen times so far, and I’ll probably have to wear it at least a half dozen more before I know if I want it to remain in the rotation.  I’m interested to find out how other people get along with Grand Amour – love it, hate it, indifferent?

If you’ve tried it, let me know!

One response to “30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Ten – Grand Amour by Annick Goutal

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve found with a couple of Annick Goutal scents that not all the notes are disclosed. There are 70-some notes in Ce Soir Ou Jamais, according to the company, but they won’t say which ones beyond what’s in the official description.

Leave a Reply

