30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Eleven – Fresh Laundry by Clean   Leave a comment

So, I have two confessions to make.

First, I did not wear any fragrance over the weekend, so while Saturday and Sunday should have been Days Eleven and Twelve…they were not.  The reasons behind this choice aren’t really that complicated – excessive levels of chlorine were involved and, to be frank, I didn’t want to try to add anything else in there.

I also seriously need a deep conditioning treatment.  Why the hell is pool chemistry so hard for people???

Second, I wore a laundry detergent scent yesterday.  Specifically, I wore Fresh Laundry eau de parfum by Clean.  It’s part of a rollerball sample pack and, yes, it is blue.  I wore BLUE PERFUME yesterday, and I’m coming clean about it.

(Heh.  Coming clean.)

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Fresh Laundry as citrus, musky, green, white floral, fresh, and rose.  Their description of this scent says:

“…Fresh Laundry by Clean is a Floral Fruity fragrance for women. Fresh Laundry was launched in 2005. Top notes are orange, lime and grass; middle notes are jasmine and rose; base notes are heliotrope, woody notes and musk.”

So, apparently there’s a place for everything because I deliberately reached for Fresh Laundry yesterday as an antidote to my chlorinated weekend and to the fact that my clothing smelt like pool.  I wanted something, anything, that might be able to get that smell out of my nose, and Fresh Laundry did just that.

I…am not a fan of the “fresh” category of fragrances, and yet I own two for precisely this reason: Fresh Laundry and Warm Cotton.  It’s a bonus that White Woods came in the same pack – I like it as a perfume.  But Fresh Laundry isn’t a perfume so much as a person freshener; it’s got a Febrezey thing going on like it is meant to remove an odor rather than be a wearable fragrance.  Honestly, it reminds me of one of those reed diffusers that people buy to assault the olfactory receptors of everyone who enters their personal space…and hide the fact that they don’t clean up after their cats.

(Yes, I have opinions.  I am also a cat person, and know how to scoop a litter box.  It’s not that difficult.)

I like Fragrantica’s list of accords for Fresh Laundry – it actually makes sense, except for the musk and rose claimed to be in there.  Yes, there’s citrus, and strong green, and fresh (note to self – must look up fresh as an accord), and even some white floral.  But, any musk or rose is completely overpowered by the other accords.  Also, these same accords are found in Gain.  Yes, Gain – touted in advertising for its scents.  That should tell you something right there.

On my skin, Fresh Laundry makes me smell like the laundry room of someone who ran out of dryer sheets.  I suspect layering it with Warm Cotton would add in that note, but I’m a little afraid to try that.

Despite my maligning it , Fresh Laundry is good for some times, and some things.  Taking the chlorine out of my nose is one of those things, and that’s why I’ll continue to own it, and to wear it (and Warm Cotton) from time to time, even when I don’t really care for it.

Fresh Laundry by Clean

Leave a Reply

