30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Thirteen – La Chasse aux Papillons by L’Artisan Parfumeur   1 comment

Yesterday, I wore La Chasse aux Papillons eau de toilette by L’Artisan Parfumeur.  It is from a decant I bought from The Perfumed Court.  However, I now also own a ten sample pack directly from L’Artisan Parfumeur that was a gift from a reader, and this scent is in that pack as well.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of La Chasse aux Papillons as white floral, tuberose, floral, sweet, and animalic.  Their description of this scent notes that “…The fragrance features tuberose, orange blossom, jasmine, lime blossom and white flowers.”  I actually like the description on the manufacturer’s site better:

“Imagine a summer garden flooded with sunshine, full of delicate white flowers, jasmine, orange blossom, tuberose and lime blossom; scents mingling to intoxicate the senses. Sunlight catches the wings of butterflies as they dart among the trees and flowers…”

Prior to trying La Chasse aux Papillons (which means Chasing Butterflies), I’d not heard of L’Artisan Parfumeur, and so I went and looked them up.  They were founded in 1976, in Paris, by Jean Laporte, as a niche fragrance house inspired by nature.  They’re best known for their scent Mûre et Musc, which was created in 1978 and combines blackberry and musk.  L’Artisan Parfumeur works with a number of well-known noses, including Anne Flipo who is behind La Chasse aux Papillons and a number of other iconic fragrances for houses around the world (Love Story for Chloe and La Vie Est Belle for Lancôme spring immediately to mind).

La Chasse aux Papillons is surprising – it reminds me of being at Longwood Gardens in summer with its heady florals, but it isn’t cloying as so many intense florals can be, nor is it too green.  In fact, there’s little to no green notes in it at all – jasmine and tuberose and linden combine beautifully.  It is also astonishingly long lasting for an eau de toilette – I put it on at 7:00 AM and could still smell it on my skin after a bath at 7:00 PM – but isn’t loud.  The decant I have came with a dabber, so that’s how I put it on; I’m wondering how it will be in spray form, though, and if two sprays will be enough.

I suspect it will.  I was getting compliments on my “perfume” all day yesterday.

On my skin, La Chasse aux Papillons is linden and tuberose with some jasmine and orange blossom.  I don’t get anything animalic in the base, but I suspect whatever is there is what keeps it going so long.  I absolutely adore this fragrance, and can’t wait to wear more of it.  If you’re a white floral fan like I am, this is definitely one for you to pick up…although I will, as always, suggest a sample or decant first – the 1.7 oz spray is running $100 on Sephora.com.

La Chasse aux Papillons – L’Artisan Parfumeur

 

One response to “30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Thirteen – La Chasse aux Papillons by L’Artisan Parfumeur

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Scent – Day Nineteen – A Pause, for Christmas | Eating Monsters

Leave a Reply

