30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Twelve – Poison by Christian Dior   4 comments

On Tuesday, I wore Poison eau de toilette by Christian Dior.  It’s (unfortunately) a decant I purchased from The Perfumed Court.  I say unfortunately because my full-sized bottle ran out a long time ago and now all I have is this teeny-tiny vial.  I must definitely remedy this – Poison used to be my signature scent and I miss it.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Poison as balsamic, sweet, white floral, woody, fruity, and warm spicy.  Their description of this scent says:

“…Forbidden fruit from the house of Dior, Poison is the revolutionary fragrance that became a legend since it has been launched in 1985. An unrivalled alchemy; spicy, fruity, woody fragrance of enigmatic profoundness that mesmerizes the senses…forever. Top notes include coriander, wildberries, orange honey, tuberose are at perfume’s heart, while base note features opopanar (sp). This dark, mysterious and elegant perfume, which won a FiFi award in 1987, was created by Edouard Flechier…”

The nose for Poison is someone I’d not heard of before, and I’ve actually not tried any of his other fragrances (they include C’est La Vie for Christian Lacroix and Une Rose for Frederic Malle).  I’ll probably try some of his other scents because I love this one SO MUCH.  Poison is heady, and seductive, and not delicate by any means.  The tuberose and honey layered over opoponax is brilliant – dark and luscious and wanting.  This scent is for someone who knows what they want and will do whatever it takes to get it.  I’ve not found anyone who thinks Poison is “okay” – people either love it, or hate it, and sometimes both things at the same time.

On my skin, Poison is tuberose and honey – thick honey – with a balsamic undertone that just stops short of being too much.  I absolutely love it and need to get a full-size bottle soon.

Poison by Christian Dior

4 responses to “30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Twelve – Poison by Christian Dior

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s funny, the original Poison doesn’t work on me, but I can’t get enough of Hypnotic Poison or Midnight Poison.

    • I’ve not actually tried the others in the line because the original is such a favorite. I should, though.

      • I wore Midnight on a date last night, and it went over beautifully. I doubt you’d care much for it, though, because it does have a fair amount of patchouli in it. Hypnotic is all about the vanilla and almond.

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Seventeen – N°22 by Chanel | Eating Monsters

Leave a Reply

