30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Eighteen – L de Lolita Lempicka by Lolita Lempicka   Leave a comment

Today, I am wearing L de Lolita Lempicka eau de parfum by Lolita Lempicka.  It’s a little trial size glass bottle that a friend gave me.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of L de Lolita Lempicka as warm spicy, vanilla, cinnamon, citrus, and sweet.  Their description of this scent says:

“…L de Lolita Lempicka by Lolita Lempicka is a Oriental Vanilla fragrance for women. L de Lolita Lempicka was launched in 2006. The nose behind this fragrance is Maurice Roucel. Top notes are bitter orange and bergamot; middle notes are immortelle, cinnamon and musk; base notes are tonka bean, vanilla and sandalwood.”

I’m not going to sugar coat it – I hate this scent.  Seriously.  I don’t know why I haven’t thrown it out yet; I seem to keep trying to find a way to wear it without blowing out my sinuses and I just can’t.  According to my fragrance timeline, the last time I wore L de Lolita Lempicka before today was in August of last year.  It’s been SIX MONTHS since I last wore it, and I don’t own enough scents to have worn something unique each and every day between then and now.

Maybe it’s because someone gave it to me?  Maybe it’s because the bottle is pretty?  Whatever is causing it, I need to just bite the bullet and toss it out, or give it to someone who appreciates it and, more importantly, can wear it without smelling like a Yankee Candle store.

So, here are some objectives you can wrap your head around: vanilla and cinnamon are prominent in this scent, and there’s noticeable musk in the middle although, to be fair, it’s not the musk that is going wonky on my skin.  I can’t smell the citrus that is supposed to be in L de Lolita Lempicka – I’ll have to ask my friend who gets routinely attacked by citrus if she can pick it up.

On my skin, well, L de Lolita Lempicka smells like the taste of a badly made “skinny” drink from Starbucks.  You know, you go in and order a cinnamon dulce latte but decide to get the skinny one to save calories, and the barista puts one too many pumps of sugar-free vanilla and/or cinnamon syrup in it and you can’t drink it at all?  What do they call that?  Oh wait – RUINED.  There’s a word for you.  This scent smells like a ruined fancy skinny coffee from Starbucks.

I don’t know who I’d recommend this scent to – if you’re someone for whom it works well, let me know.  Maybe I’ll send you mine!

L de Lolita Lempicka by Lolita Lempicka

Leave a Reply

