30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Seventeen – N°22 by Chanel   1 comment

Yesterday, I wore N°22 eau de toilette by Chanel.  It is a decant I purchased from The Perfumed Court.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of N°22 as white floral, floral, woody, powdery, and citrus.  Their description of this scent says:

“…The perfect, classical, silky fragrance of this perfume is composed of gorgeous jasmine, orange blossom, fresh green note of lilac and sweet rose. Aldehydes, bergamot, neroli and peach are in the top notes, while the base is woodsy and musky with balsamic notes of tonka, benzoin and opoponax.”

Fun fact:  N°22 was created in 1922 and is meant to be a light variation of N°5 which was created by Coco Chanel and Earnest Beaux the previous year.  Although, you probably already knew that.  Another fun fact about N°22 is that it is NOT easy to find – it’s part of the Les Exclusifs de Chanel collection and the only reliable place to buy it that I could find was Chanel’s own site…and a 2.5 oz bottle will run you $160.  This, I think, is a shame – I love love LOVE N°22 and want to own a full-sized bottle of it even more than I want a full-sized bottle of N°5.

(I think I might choose N°22 over N°5 if someone made me choose. Seriously.)

I found out, recently, that opoponax is one of the things that makes me love Poison so much, so it makes sense that I’d like another scent with it in, right?  Well, N°22 is nothing like Poison.  Where Poison is deep and heady honey and tuberose, N°22 is jasmine and orange blossom and that powdery iris thing that can so easily go astray…except it doesn’t.  N°22 is fresh and light while still having that classic vibe people look for in the older Chanel fragrances.

On me, N°22 is a classic white floral with a powdery under layer that helps it last – I got a good six hours out of it yesterday before it became a skin scent, and I could still smell it on my wrists this morning when I woke up.

N°22 by Chanel

One response to “30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Seventeen – N°22 by Chanel

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Thirty – Bois des Iles by Chanel | Eating Monsters

Leave a Reply

