30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Nineteen – London by Burberry   Leave a comment

Today, I am wearing London eau de parfum by Burberry.  It’s a decant I purchased from The Perfumed Court.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of London as white floral, citrus, rose, fruity, and floral.  Their description of this scent says:

“…This is a classic floral scent with jasmine in its heart. It opens up with rose and honeysuckle harmonized with a fruity tangerine note. White floral hear note includes jasmine, Tiare Flower and Soft Peony. It leaves a velvety trail of wood and musk…”

London was created in 2006 by Dominique Ropion, who also created Alien (Thierry Mugler) and Flowerbomb by Viktor & Rolf.  I love Alien, and I detest Flowerbomb…and all that proves is that a nose isn’t in the business of making scents just for me.  I have to admit, though, that I am more likely to try something by a particular nose if I’ve already tried something by them that I like, and in fact Ropion designed some other scents I’m interested in trying: Safari (Ralph Lauren) and Acqua de Gioia (Giorgio Armani) spring immediately to mind.

I like London the city, and I like London the fragrance, but one doesn’t remind me of the other.  Burberry’s London is more flowery than I remember the city being; honeysuckle and jasmine with rose in the background.  The tangerine keeps it from being too cloying, and I don’t get any musk from it at all…which is probably just as well.  Lately, I’ve been trying to avoid picking up scents with any musk (or patchouli!) in them.

(Remind me to tell you about the fun I had on the BPAL site on Monday trying to find scents without musk or patchouli!)

On my skin, London is a light floral – honeysuckle and jasmine mostly, with a little bit of rose and tangerine.  There might be peony in there – the description claims it, but it isn’t what I’d say I notice the most.  Mainly, London is a nice scent – and I’ll bet it goes as well with my yoga pants as it does with my office clothes.

London eau de parfum by Burberry

Leave a Reply

