30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Twenty – Mûre et Musc by L’Artisan Parfumeur   1 comment

Day 20 technically lasted 48 hours – Wednesday and Thursday of this week.  I wore Mûre et Musc eau de parfum by L’Artisan Parfumeur, from the 10 sample perfume box that a reader sent me.  The reason it lasted 48 hours is due to the fact that this scent worked on me and I am not used to anything with musk in it being palatable on my skin – so I double-checked.

I did not make a mistake – Mûre et Musc works on me.  I am shocked and thrilled: I’ve found a MUSK that I can wear!

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Mûre et Musc as fruity, musky, citrus, sweet, and fresh spicy.  Their description of this scent says:

“…Mûre et Musc was launched in 1978. The nose behind this fragrance is Jean-Francois Laporte. Top notes are amalfi lemon, orange, mandarin orange and basil; middle notes are blackberry and red berries; base notes are musk and oakmoss.”

Laporte created other scents for L’Artisan Parfumeur in the late 1970s, and then also for Maître Parfumeur et Gantier from the late ’80s through 2000.  I’ve not tried any of his other scents, but I am now planning to because Mûre et Musc is fucking amazing.  Seriously.  It is fucking amazing.

The accords listed by Fragrantica are right on the money for Mûre et Musc: fruity and musky, with underlying sweetness, and fresh spice.  I don’t get the citrus so much, which is interesting since it is supposed to be in the top notes.  Berry notes are prominent, and the herbaceousness of basil comes through, along with musk…but the musk is really nicely balanced; it holds up the berry and presents it rather than smacking it across the face and dragging it into a dark alley.

(Sorry – opinions, I haz them.)

On my skin, Mûre et Musc is blackberry-blackberry-blackberry-black raspberry, propped up by musk.  The basil that is apparent to me when I sniff the vial is not present when I wear it; it is all berry all the time.  I can see wearing this with anything – I wore it with yoga pants and a t-shirt Wednesday, and jeans and a t-shirt Thursday.  It lasted all day – I put it on at 7AM on Thursday, and it was still evident on my skin at 9PM Thursday night.  I absolutely love this scent, and recommend that everyone pick up a decant and at least give it a try.

Mûre et Musc by L'Artisan Parfumeur

Mûre et Musc by L’Artisan Parfumeur

 

One response to “30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Twenty – Mûre et Musc by L’Artisan Parfumeur

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Twenty-Three – L’Eau d’Ambre by L’Artisan Parfumeur | Eating Monsters

Leave a Reply

