30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Twenty-One – Fou d’Absinthe by L’Artisan Parfumeur   Leave a comment

Yesterday, I wore Fou d’Absinthe by L’Artisan Parfumeur.  It is part of a 10 sample pack sent to me by a reader.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Fou d’Absinthe as fresh spicy, woody, aromatic, balsamic, warm spicy, and fresh spicy.  Their description of this scent says:

“Fou d`Absinthe by L`Artisan Parfumeur is a Aromatic Fougere fragrance for men. Fou d`Absinthe was launched in 2006. The nose behind this fragrance is Olivia Giacobetti. Top notes are black currant, angelica and wormwood; middle notes are ginger, patchouli, pepper, nutmeg, star anise and cloves; base notes are balsam fir, incense and pine tree needles.”

The nose who designed Fou d’Absinthe designed a number of other scents I’ve never tried for companies I’ve either never heard of, or not heard enough to have an opinion.  I am intrigued by a fragrance called Eau Egyptienne (Cinq Mondes), but €49.00 seems a lot to pay for body mist so I probably won’t get to try it unless someone gives it to me.

I was excited to see Fou d’Absinthe in my sample pack since I am an absinthe drinker, and I’ve wondered what I might smell like if I dabbed a bit of the liqueur in all the right places.  Turns out that I don’t need to do that – L’Artisan Parfumeur did it for me.  Fou d’Absinthe is absinthe in a fragrance – you can smell the artemisia right off the bat, and the middle and base notes just reinforce it.  Fou d’Absinthe is spicy, woody goodness with no olfactory detractors.

On me, this scent is absinthe, plain and simple, with some balsamic and woody props.  Supposedly there’s patchouli in this fragrance, but it didn’t so much as blink at me – the other elements are balanced and nuanced and absolutely delightful.  I really like it, and I refuse (like so many other scent nerds) to let the fact that it is marketed as being “for men” stop me from wearing it.

Fou d’Absinthe by L’Artisan Parfumeur

Leave a Reply

