30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Twenty-Two – Timbuktu by L’Artisan Parfumeur   Leave a comment

Today, I am wearing Timbuktu eau de toilette by L’Artisan Parfumeur.  It is included in the 10 sample pack I have from L’Artisan Parfumeur.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Timbuktu as woody, balsamic, warm spicy, smoky, aromatic, and green.  Their description of this scent is full of typos and other weirdness (the joys of reviews written by the public), so I went to the manufacturer’s website and found this:

“…Timbuktu has piquant notes of green mango and creamy karo-karoundé flower to balance the pink pepper, cardamom, and vetiver. Cloaked in smoke from papyrus wood, incense and patchouli, this sensual and airy scent is beautifully ancient yet profoundly modern.”

L’Artisan Parfumeur states that the three prominent notes of this scent are pink pepper, karo-karoundé (Leptactina senegambica Hook.f.), and vetiver.  I’ve never smelt anything quite like it before; Timbuktu is woody and spicy without falling into that whole metaphysical shop thing.  In fact, I actually spent time today in a vendor room that contained tables from a dozen metaphysical shops, and while my sinuses filled with noxious patchouli, Timbuktu remained unspoiled on my skin.

This fragrance, like all of those by L’Artisan Parfumeur, is expensive, but I think you get what you pay for in this case.  The ingredients that were put together to make Timbuktu are tricky, and I can see how the entire thing could have gone in another direction and become death for my sinuses.  See my reference to metaphysical shops above if you’re wondering what I mean – the combination of too much patchouli, too much incense, and too much white light makes for a heady (and painful!) combination.

*wink*

On me, Timbuktu is pink pepper and vetiver – I’m not sure if I got any of the karo-karoundé, since I don’t know what the flower is supposed to smell like.  It remained a skin scent from the time I put it on (dab in all the right places) until now, 12 hours later.  I want to work it into my regular rotation, although I suspect it will be a mistake to try and wear it on a hot and humid day; it’s really nice right now, but I can see how it might become overwhelming.

Timbuktu eau de toilette by L’Artisan Parfumeur

 

Leave a Reply

