30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Twenty-Four – Whip by Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab   2 comments

Today, I decided to switch it up a bit, and instead of wearing another scent by L’Artisan Parfumeur, I went with Whip perfume oil blend by Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab (BPAL).  Whip is an imp (sample/decant) that I ordered from BPAL a week or so ago when I finally realized it was silly not to own any scents by them.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Whip as rose, leather, animalic, floral, and smoky.  Their description of this scent is short and to the point: “Whip by Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab is a Leather fragrance for women and men. The fragrance features leather and rose.”  The description on the BPAL site isn’t much more forthcoming: “Agony and ecstasy: black leather and damp red rose.”

Whip is from the Ars Amatoria collection at BPAL, which is described as being “An exploration of love, lust, desire, longing, and despair.”  Each fragrance in this collection has a description that contains language around this theme, and the blends are meant to evoke a particular set of emotions.  It is expected that Whip will do the same, and carry its wearer through a themed scent memory…although, for me, the name carries more memories than the fragrance.  This scent is rose, rose, rose, and if there’s leather in there, I’ve not found it yet.  Then again, when I went looking for BPAL scents I deliberately gravitated to ones without musk or patchouli, and Whip is definitely that.

I’m kind of surprised how much I like this scent since the evident note for me is the rose, and then rose, and then more rose, but there’s definitely a depth to it, even if I’m not getting the leather notes.  It smells like the roses currently on my mantel at home – almost over, but headily fragrant, and I’m getting the sensation that I might be scratched by a thorn if I traced my skin where I put it on.  If all of the imps I bought from BPAL (five in total) are as nice as Whip, I’m definitely way ahead of the game.

I’d recommend you try Whip if you love rose in your perfume, but not if you’re one of those who becomes overwhelmed by it; it’s not delicate by any means.  Then again, at $4 per imp, Whip is a bargain to try and trade if you don’t enjoy it.

Whip (imp) by BPAL

2 responses to “30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Twenty-Four – Whip by Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Whip is FABULOUS.

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Twenty-Five – Lolita by Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab | Eating Monsters

Leave a Reply

