30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Twenty-Three – L’Eau d’Ambre by L’Artisan Parfumeur   Leave a comment

Day Twenty-Three was also a day that lasted 48 hours, largely due to travel.  I wore L’Eau d’Ambre Extrême eau de parfum by L’Artisan Parfumeur, which is part of the 10 sample pack that I have from L’Artisan Parfumeur.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of L’Eau d’Ambre as amber, patchouli, vanilla, animalic, balsamic, and warm spicy.  Their description of this scent says:

“L’Eau d’Ambre by L`Artisan Parfumeur is a Oriental fragrance for women. L’Eau d’Ambre was launched in 1978. The nose behind this fragrance is Jean-François Laporte. The fragrance features amber, patchouli, vanilla and geranium.”

Jean-François Laporte, who died in 2011, was the creator of Sisley, L’Artisan Parfumeur, and Maître Parfumeur et Gantier.  I’ve worn one of his other scents, Mûre et Musc, and was quite taken with it, but L’Eau d’Ambre is very different.  I’ve not tried anything else by him, though, which is a shame, and something I intend to remedy at my first opportunity.

One of the things I am noticing about my foray into L’Artisan Parfumeur’s scents is that they’re more delicate that I thought they’d be.  L’Eau d’Ambre, for example, should be a perfect example of everything I hate in a perfume – amber and (evil) patchouli and vanilla should equal BLECH, but they don’t.  It’s well-balanced and spicy without getting stuck in my nose (or sinuses), and by dabbing it I seem to have convinced it to remain a skin scent.  True, the weather’s been cooperating (it’s been dry and cool), and true, I’ve not been dousing myself in any of the scents, but L’Eau d’Ambre feels like a fragrance I could grow to really like.

On my skin, I get a mix of amber and geranium with what is probably a vanilla-patchouli undertone, and something else that feels foundational; there’s a note that holds this fragrance up and makes it solid.  I do wish the geranium was more pronounced, since I can see it easily being overcome on a hot and humid day, but as long as the weather remains reasonable, I’ll wear it again.

L’Eau d’Ambre by L’Artisan Parfumeur

Leave a Reply

