30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Twenty-Five – Lolita by Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab   Leave a comment

Today, I am wearing Lolita perfume oil by Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab (BPAL).  It is an imp (sample/decant) that I ordered from BPAL, along with several others.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Lolita as white floral, citrus, sweet, soapy, and aromatic.  Their description of this scent is short: “Lolita by Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab is a Floral fragrance for women. The fragrance features honeysuckle, lemon verbena, orange blossom and heliotrope.”  As with Whip, I like the description on BPAL’s site: “Bright, sweet and youthful, but swelling with a poisonous sexuality. Glittering heliotrope, honeysuckle, orange blossom and lemon verbena.”

So, I picked this scent as one of my imps because I was trying to avoid fragrances that had musk or patchouli in them, and I’m not disappointed.  Lolita is nothing like any of the scents I own, unless one of the BPAL imps I haven’t tried is like it, or one of the samples in the unopened Sephora box, or one of the untried samples from L’Artisan Parfumeur…you know what?  Never mind.  I apparently have too many scents that I haven’t ever worn.

So, Lolita.  I was expecting heliotrope, honeysuckle, orange blossom, and lemon verbena, and I got heliotrope, honeysuckle, and anise.  Actually, more specifically, I got heliotrope, honeysuckle, and Ricard – it reminds me of drinking la vrai pastis de Marseille at a cafe in the nailing heat of a Provençal summer.  Pastis, for those who don’t know, is an apéritif and liqueur flavored with anise that was commercialized after absinthe was banned in France.  There’s a tradition of anise-flavored liqueurs in the Mediterranean, of which pastis is just one, and if you’ve not heard of it, you’ve probably heard of some of the others: ouzo, for example, or sambuca.

Anyway, Lolita reminds me of drinking pastis or, rather, evokes the ritual of drinking pastis on a summer day.

On my skin, Lolita starts with heliotrope and anise like a one-two punch, but it fades back quickly to a skin scent.  Later, the honeysuckle note came out, and that is still relatively noticeable on my skin some nine hours later.  I can see Lolita becoming a staple, and I might splurge on a full-size bottle, especially since it is a bargain at $17.50 for a 5mL bottle.

Lolita by BPAL (sorry – couldn’t find a photo of a vial or imp)

Leave a Reply

