30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Twenty-Six – Aqua Motu by Comptoir Sud Pacifique   Leave a comment

Today, I am wearing Aqua Motu eau de toilette by Comptoir Sud Pacifique.  It’s a rollerball I bought from Sephora.

(And yes, I decided to change things up again and not wear one of the three remaining BPAL imps I’ve not yet tried, or one of the L’Artisan Parfumeur samples.  I was in the mood for something different.)

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Aqua Motu as marine, sand, aromatic, salty, and herbal.  Their description of this scent says:

“Aqua Motu is a relaxing and sunny marine scent which blends the invigorating ocean breeze with the discreet warmth of sand. the composition includes Helichrysum in the top, a marine accord, lily-of-the-valley and sand in the heart, and Fucus (sea grass) in the base…”

(Interestingly, when I went to look up what makes a marine accord I found this.  I’m looking forward to perusing that site when I get a chance.)

When I went to Comptoir Sud Pacifique’s site to check out the manufacturer, I was struck by the number of fragrances they have, and also how many of them seem interesting.  They have six collections altogether, with at least one scent in each.  As an example, there are four subcategories in the Eaux de Voyages collection, and the sub-category of Soleil et Farniente contains three scents in addition to Aqua Motu: Vanille Coco, Aloha Tiaré (EDT and EDP), and Coco Extreme.  It makes thinking about what to try next exciting, really – I suspect I could do close to 30 days of Comptoir Sud Pacifique!

I’ve always liked marine scents, as evidenced by some of my earlier reviews, and Aqua Motu fits right into that profile.  The combination of sea and sand is there, and the lily-of-the-valley seems to bolster it rather than soften it up.  I don’t know that it is relaxing, exactly, but Aqua Motu reminds me a bit of the air of the Bahamas, and how it felt to be in Atlantis with my husband and son a couple of years ago.  I can see the sun setting, hear the breeze in my ears, and everything else just fades away.

On me, Aqua Motu is helichrysum and fucus with a salty bite, and I absolutely love it.  I’m likely to go looking for more marine scents again (I only own four, and three of those are in decant form!) which could end up being a problem for my wallet and/or storage capabilities.

Oh well – at least I’ll smell amazing.

Aqua Motu by Comptoir Sud Pacifique

Leave a Reply

