30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Twenty-Seven – Bordello by Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab   Leave a comment

On Saturday, I wore Bordello perfume oil by Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab (BPAL).  It is one of the imps (decants/sample) I ordered from BPAL…and I think I need to trade it to someone.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Bordello as fruity, almond, wine, alcohol, and sweet.  Their description of this scent says: “Bordello by Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab is a Oriental fragrance for women. The fragrance features plum, amaretto, red wine and black currant.”  

Bordello is part of BPAL’s Ars Amatoria collection, and is meant to evoke “…images of velvet-lined Old West cathouses, tightly laced corsets, rustling petticoats and coquettish snarls of pleasure…”  Well, apparently, I wouldn’t like the way an Old West cathouse would smell, and that’s a shame since I’ve thought about what it would be like to work in one, or patronize one, for some time.  Sadly, there’s something about Bordello that just doesn’t work with my skin chemistry.  To begin with, it smells of patchouli even though it isn’t supposed to contain any – perhaps that’s the black currant mixed with red wine?  Secondly, it was WAY too strong – I dabbed a little in the appropriate places, and it overwhelmed my nose until my sinuses closed in self-defense.  And Saturday was a cool, dry day – I can only imagine what would do in the steamy heat of one of our summers.

I think Bordello might have some redeeming features for other people – there’s clearly a blend of rich ingredients in this fragrance, and the staying power is probably a plus if one likes the scent.  I don’t see myself wearing it again – I’ve put the imp in my “box of scents never to wear again”, and will probably send it on to someone who will appreciate it.  Which brings me to this: if anyone wants it, shoot me an email at veggiewolf@gmail.com and I will send it to you.

Bordello by BPAL

Leave a Reply

