30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Twenty-Eight – Carnal by Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab   Leave a comment

(Yes, there’s a theme going on here!)

Yesterday, I wore Carnal perfume oil by Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab (BPAL).  It’s an imp (decant/sample) I purchased from BPAL, along with four others.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Carnal as citrus, sweet, fruity, woody, and bitter.  Their description of this fragrance is as sparse as any of their BPAL descriptions, but BPAL’s own description is just as minimal: “Bold, bright mandarin paired with the sweet, sensual earthiness of fig.”

Terribly helpful, isn’t it?  And yet, I picked this one out based on that very description, which means the simplicity of it struck a chord.  Perhaps I should be teasing myself instead of BPAL and Fragrantica for purchasing a scent with so little available information, or perhaps I should be patting myself on the back since I really did pick a winner, simple description aside.  Carnal is multi-faceted, and each hour I loved it more – it went from being slightly sweet and citrusy to deep and woody with a bite over the course of the day.  The bitter note was right on the money as well – interesting, without being overwhelming, and just the right thing to keep Carnal from tumbling over into sweet-and-fruity land.

On my skin, the fig really shone through once the citrus dissipated a bit; I was out of the house and running about, and received several compliments and questions about what I was wearing.  I always like it when a scent I enjoy is so obviously enjoyed by those around me; all that was missing was a pair of lips next to my ear murmuring that I smelt delicious.

Maybe next time? *wink*

Carnal by BPAL

Leave a Reply

