30 Days of Scent Returns! Day Thirty – Bois des Iles by Chanel   Leave a comment

Today is the final day of this incarnation of 30 Days of Scent, and to celebrate I am wearing a classic scent: Bois des Iles eau de toilette by Chanel.  It’s part of the Les Exclusifs de Chanel collection, and I own it in decant form, purchased from The Perfumed Court.

Before I get into my typical run-down of how, what, and why, I want to note something here: it is my opinion that everyone should own at least one Chanel fragrance, even if it is in decant.  Chanel has been in the fragrance business for a long time, and there’s a reason for it.  Seriously – the next time you are anywhere that they sell Chanel scents, go to the counter and pick up some samples.  It will change your life.

Carrying on then: Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Bois des Iles as woody, balsamic, powdery, aldehydic, floral, and sweet.  Their description of this scent says:

“…Bois des Iles, or the Island Forests, was created in 1926 by Ernest Beaux…The top notes are composed of aldehydes, bergamot, neroli and peach, the heart composition consists of jasmine, rose, lily of the valley, woody iris and ylang-ylang, and the base of vetiver, sandalwood, benzoin and musk.”

For anyone who doesn’t know what aldehydes have to do with fragrance, Fragrantica has a nice description of what they are and what they do here.  Chanel is known for using aldehydes in their signature scents – N°5 and N°22 are both ripe with them, and Bois des Iles comes right out of the gate with an aldehydic slap rather than a caress.  Though, in Bois des Iles’ case, it is a good thing – I don’t think it would be as much of a pleasure to wear without that particular note (though if anyone can’t wear this scent due to the aldehydes, let me know – I’m always interested in what part skin chemistry plays.)

On me, Bois des Iles is aldehyde and neroli, fading to jasmine and lily of the valley.  I get vetiver and sandalwood in the base, but no musk…or maybe the musk I get is vastly different than most musky scents I’ve tried; Bois des Iles does not try to invade my brain and take it over.  I get some of the powder this fragrance is known for as well, and I chalk that up to the iris in it; iris tends to read powdery on me.  This is another classic Chanel scent that I wish I owned in full-size, and I wear it so much that my decant (my third one!) is empty as of this morning.

If decant shopping wasn’t so much fun, I’d be depressed right about now.

Bois des Iles eau de toilette by Chanel

Leave a Reply

