30 Days of Scent (Again?) – Day One – Rain by Demeter   Leave a comment

This morning, on my way to work, I started thinking about the perfume potential of the 2015 Holiday Season…and realized that it has been a long time since I’ve written anything here.  Coupling scent with writing is easy for me, so here I am, once again, bringing you the 30 Days of Scent series.

Today, I am wearing Rain cologne spray by Demeter.  It’s a decant that I bought from The Perfumed Court.

Fragrantica.com does not list any accords for this scent, and the piece of their description that does not come from the manufacturer is not particularly useful: “…It is very strange and almost impossible to describe, since it reinterprets a complex moment of rain in spring…”  So, I went to the manufacturer’s site, and what they had to say was slightly better in that it at least explains what they were trying to accomplish with this fragrance:

…Step outside after the first storm after a dry spell and it invariably hits you: The sweet, fresh, powerfully evocative smell of fresh rain…Demeter Fragrance Rain captures this complex sensory moment perfectly…

And it does.  It truly takes the moment of rain first hitting the dry earth, that almost ozonic scent, and translates it into something wearable.  It’s no wonder that the people at Fragrantica couldn’t describe Rain – it evokes an olfactory memory that is more than words on a page and more than a perfume on the skin.  Wearing Rain the first time, for me, was experiencing flashes from my life in succession.

FLASH – standing at the bus stop as a child without my umbrella because it hadn’t rained in weeks.

FLASH – walking through the city streets in summer and being caught in a sudden downpour.

FLASH – the break in the closeness of the air when the storm you knew was coming finally hits.

Rain is all of these things when I wear it, along with so many other moments that I couldn’t pin them down even if I wanted to.  And it makes me curious to see how others have experienced it – what does it evoke for you?

Needless to say (I hope), I will be getting a full-size bottle.

Rain – Demeter Fragrance

 

Leave a Reply

