30 Days of Scent – Day Two – Ginger Essence by Origins   Leave a comment

Today, I am wearing Origins Ginger Essence Intensified Fragrance.  It’s a rollerball that I bought at Beauty.com when I was looking to have enough in my cart for free shipping.

(Yes, I’ll admit it – if I need just a few more dollars to get free shipping, I always go for the perfume…even if I’ve never tried it before.)

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Ginger Essence as citrus, fresh spicy, aromatic, sour, fresh, and sweet.  Their description of the scent is short, but gives mention to the manufacturer, the year it came out (2000) and that it “…features ginger, bergamot, amalfi lemon and lime.”  Origins’ own words on Ginger Essence are not much better – there’s some crap about yin and yang that rubs me in the same way that talk about “totem animals” does when white people do the talking.  I’m glad I just bought the scent on a whim without looking it up first, as the manufacturer’s site would have put me right off trying it in the first place.

The accords, as described by Fragrantica, are on the money, but I probably would have put “fresh spicy” before citrus – on me, it’s as if someone took crystallized ginger and liquified it, then dabbed it on my skin.  I’ve found that it also has a long dry-down period; I put it on at 6:30 this morning and I know I’ll be smelling it until the end of the work day at the very least.  Despite that, though, it is not too intense, and my clothes won’t suck it up the way they do with so many of my other perfumes.  I can smell just enough citrus to tone down the ginger heat without overpowering it the way lemon often does, and on a day like today Ginger Essence lifts my spirits enough to get me out the door to do what I need to.

(Might be a good motivational scent, one to wear when I have to eat a giant ugly frog.)

Since I am not one to drown myself in a scent (unless it spills all over me), I think the rollerball will last awhile even though I plan to put Ginger Essence into my regular rotation.

Origins Ginger Essence Intensified Fragrance

Leave a Reply

