30 Days of Scent – Day Five – Dahlia & Vines by Nest   Leave a comment

Yesterday, I wore Dahlia & Vines eau de parfum by Nest.  It is one of five samples sent to me by Nest Fragrances when I wrote to them to ask about where I could try their scents, and it was actually recommended to me by my friend over at Style 704.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Dahlia & Vines as rose, floral, fresh, yellow floral, musky, and sweet.  Their description of the scent (as written by one of their reviewers) is not very long, but it is to the point: “Dahlia & Vines by Nest is a Floral fragrance for women. Dahlia & Vines was launched in 2013. The fragrance features peony, narcissus, rose, white musk and grapes.”  The manufacturer’s own description differs only slightly – they spell out daffodil and garden vines as notes, and don’t mention the white musk at all.

I find it interesting that I have friends who know my perfume taste so well that they’ll recommend a scent for me that I wouldn’t choose for myself.  Were I asked, prior to trying any of the Nest fine fragrances out, which one I’d prefer, I would have said Amazon Lily…and it is true that Amazon Lily is really nice and works well on me.  However, Dahlia & Vines wears like it was created for my skin chemistry – rose, without being too perfumey or over-powering, the slightly dry but lush scent of peony, and just enough greenery to bring the florals forward.  Dahlia & Vines is not an in-your-face scent, but it’s not a shrinking violet either.

I’ve added Dahlia & Vines to my wishlist in the hopes that someone will take the hint and grab me a rollerball, and I’m also interested in what Nest comes up with beyond the five scents I’ve already tried.  If you’re a fan of rose but don’t want to drown in it, this is the scent for you.

Leave a Reply

