30 Days of Scent – Day Seven – Bronze Goddess eau Fraiche by Estée Lauder   Leave a comment

Yesterday, I wore Bronze Goddess Eau Fraiche by Estée Lauder.  It’s a rollerball I bought on Estée Lauder.com.

([shill on]Incidentally, I am a huge fan of Estée Lauder products – I have almost all of their fragrances in my collection, and every year I am given the cosmetics collection I call the “paintbox”.  If you are as big a fan as I am, you’ll want to join their E-List Loyalty program.[/shill off])

Fragrantica.com describes the main accords of Bronze Goddess Eau Fraiche as citrus, white floral, sweet, coconut, and vanilla.  Their description of this fragrance says “…The fragrance opens with zesty citrus notes of Sicilian bergamot, mandarin, lemon and orange. The heart includes tiare flower, jasmine, magnolia and orange blossom. The base consists of warm notes of amber, coconut milk, vanilla, vetiver, sandalwood and myrrh.”

I have to admit, I kept trying to acquire Bronze Goddess in one form or another, but it was almost always unavailable due to the season – Estée Lauder markets it as a seasonal fragrance, introducing a new version of it almost every year, and not only could I not find it, but those who like to gift me with things couldn’t find it either as both my birthday and the traditional December gift-giving time are “off season”.  I (finally) managed to snag a rollerball of the Eau Fraiche from Estée Lauder’s website while purchasing cleanser, and I was not disappointed.

First of all, Bronze Goddess Eau Fraiche has enough coconut in it to remind me of the Monoï oil my mother used to buy from Yves Rocher to put in her bath when I was a teenager…and that I used to borrow (read: steal) every chance I got.  They don’t actually make that exact product any more (although there are a ton of Monoï products on Yves Rocher’s site), but Bronze Goddess triggers that olfactory memory for me.  Despite the obvious coconut, though, it is not overly tropical, nor does it give off that sunscreen vibe that other tropical-inspired scents do.  The citrus in the forefront, and the myrrh and sandalwood in the base temper the heart just enough to make it a lovely complex blend that doesn’t come across as complicated.

On my skin, I get coconut and bergamot, jasmine and sandalwood, and enough myrrh to shore the fragrance up.  It’s remarkably long-lasting as well – I put it on around 6:00 AM and I was still enveloped (albeit delicately) when I came home around 5:00 PM.  It’s a pick-me-up scent and, with the memories it evokes, definitely a keeper.

Leave a Reply

