30 Days of Scent – Day Eight – Salt Air by Demeter   Leave a comment

Last Thursday, I wore Salt Air cologne spray by Demeter – Salt Air.  It was a decant I bought from The Perfumed Court.

Fragrantica.com doesn’t have much of a description of Salt Air, but they do list three accords for it: marine, salty, and aromatic.  The manufacturer’s website isn’t much better, to be honest – it talks about the “…perfect sea breeze on the perfect beach…” which is definitely descriptive, but it doesn’t provide any information on what, exactly, was blended to get this scent to match (or purport to match) a salt breeze.

Demeter doesn’t provide much information about the ingredients of any of their fragrances, except to say:

“…While it is impossible to make the broad range of fragrances that we make without using some synthetic ingredients, we strive to make Demeter as natural as possible.  The active fragrance ingredients in all Demeter scents, while secret, contain a combination of synthetic and natural ingredients, all in concentrations deemed safe for use on the skin…”

Which doesn’t really tell us anything at all, and potentially poses problems for those of us with allergies.  I’m thinking, in particular, of a friend of mine who cannot use any products containing coconut oil, and realizing that she probably shouldn’t wear any scents from Demeter.  And, I think that’s a shame, because my experiences with their cologne sprays have been amazing.

Take Salt Air.  On me, it is exactly what it claims to be – marine, salt, and a little bit of ozone mean that my skin smells like I was outside, near the ocean, on an overcast day.  There’s no hint of sun, or coconut, or sunscreen in Salt Air, and I like that because I don’t always want my marine scents to smell of boat or beach.  It reminds me of driving across the causeway to Ocean City, and how I always roll the windows down to smell the combination of bay and sea.

Judging from the reviews of Salt Air, though, I can’t guarantee that someone else will get the same effect, and even though the 1 oz cologne spray is only $9.00, I’d still recommend trying before buying.  I did it through TPC, but the .10 oz sample at Demeter is just $2.50, and they do have a 100% money back guarantee.

Leave a Reply

