30 Days of Scent – Day Nine – Alien Essence Absolue by Thierry Mugler   Leave a comment

(Here’s another scent I couldn’t believe I hadn’t reviewed already, since I’ve owned it forever.)

On Friday, I wore Alien Essence Absolue by Thierry Mugler.  It’s a sample I originally got from a friend of mine, and since then I’ve acquired another sample to wear.

(Hey – this scent is not cheap, so I’ll rely on samples and decants until someone decides to gift it to me.)

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Alien Essence Absolue as balsamic, amber, vanilla, white floral, smoky, and powdery.  Their description of the fragrances notes that “…The composition is developed by Pierre Aulas from accords of white jasmine flowers, orris root, animalistic black vanilla pod, incense, myrrh, white amber and cashmere wood…”  Other than Alien Essence Absolue, Aulas worked on Prends Garde a Toi for Ego Facto, and since I don’t know that scent at all, I don’t really know if his talent carries across both scents.  What I do know, though, is that Aulas has really designed something lovely in Alien Essence Absolue.

On me, the Sambac jasmine and Cashmeran wood are the most prominent notes, while the myrrh and amber bolster them from below and add just enough of a warm backdrop.  I have to be careful not to over-douse myself, though; it is entirely possible to overwhelm myself with this fragrance and drown in it until my olfactory senses are completely blown out.  Alien Essence Absolue is best dabbed behind each ear and not touched to any of my other pulse points.

I’ve noted before that I am a fan of another kind of Alien, and I often see myself (especially in dream) as a xenomorph stalking about in the shadows.  Funnily enough, Alien Essence Absolue feeds this piece of me and makes me feel more in control, more seductive and able to call what I want to me.  I also find it slightly ironic that I made fun of the “solar goddess in every woman” line from the description of the Alien line on Muglerusa.com, and then found I absolutely agreed that Alien Essence Absolue embodies this bit of hyperbole in a way that the original Alien does not.

Based on how and when I wear it, I think Alien Essence Absolue is well on its way to becoming a ritual scent for me, to be painted on my skin (lightly) when I want to hunt, feed, and feel alive.

Leave a Reply

