30 Days of Scent – Day Ten – Petale Noir by Agent Provocateur   Leave a comment

(You’ve probably noticed, by now, that 30 Days of Scent this time around is skipping weekends.  I apologize for not carrying it for thirty straight days; my weekends have become so busy that I appear to be using them to play catch-up.)

And, apparently I’m behind again.

On Monday, I wore Petale Noir by Agent Provocateur.  It’s a decant I bought from The Perfumed Court.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Petale Noir as floral, woody, green, aquatic, rose, and ozonic.  Their description of this scent states that “…Petale Noir by Agent Provocateur is a Oriental Floral fragrance for women. Petale Noir was launched in 2012. Top notes are lotus, magnolia, violet leaf, hyacinth, mandarin orange and bergamot; middle notes are rose, ylang-ylang, neroli, heliotrope, osmanthus, orris root, lily-of-the-valley and; base notes are leather, ginger, amber, tobacco leaf, patchouli, oakmoss, vetiver, sandalwood, cedar, labdanum, musk and benzoin.

Petale Noir is one of those scents that I love when I first put it on, but hate by the end of the day.  The reasons are varied, depending on the day, but two things always stick out: (1) the violet leaf and lotus are gorgeous in the top; (2) the patchouli (eventually) takes over and tries to eat my face.  It doesn’t matter how much I put on, or where I dab it – the top notes make me sing and fall in love with Petale Noir, but the base notes make me want to curl up in a corner and cry.  Clearly, the relationship I have with this scent is not a healthy one…evidenced by the fact that I keep re-trying it over and over and OVER again.

Honestly, I need to give this one to someone who appreciates patchouli and is able to withstand it – it’s just too much for me, and the heartbreak I go through ever time I wear it just isn’t worth it anymore.

Leave a Reply

