30 Days of Scent – Day Thirteen – Lilac Path by Aerin Lauder   Leave a comment

Last Thursday, I wore Lilac Path by Aerin Lauder.  I bought the rollerball from Estée Lauder.com where it is part of the Aerin Lauder lifestyle brand.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Lilac Path as white floral, musky, green, amber, and powdery.  Their description of this scent says that the “…Inspiration behind Lilac Path is the lilac bush which blooms at her late grandmother Estée Lauder’s summer cottage. The perfume blooms with galbanum, creamy jasmine lactones, angelica seed oil and orange flower. The carton is decorated with design, “Marila,” which combines two unique designs to create a signature batik…

As much as I am a fan of Estée Lauder, I admit I was hesitant about trying anything from the Aerin brand – “lifestyle” brands just don’t sit well with me.  I don’t know any person who is all of one thing, no matter how often they go to Crate & Barrel, and the idea of a “lifestyle” brand just smacks of “put the person in the box and make them stay there”.  Of course, if you’ve read any of my non-scent blog posts, you know that my brain already defaults to putting people in boxes based on my relationship to them while also railing against the idea that anyone would try to put ME in a box.

What can I say?  I’m an enigma.

Anyway, it turns out that Lilac Path is a gorgeous scent and completely not in a box unless that box is labeled Fragrances I Will Wear Over and Over Again.  Like so many of the scents in the Estée Lauder fragrance line, Lilac Path is a gorgeous white floral scent with other delicious notes buoying it up.  There’s something about the way that the lilac mixes with the jasmine and the orange flower that makes it heady but not cloying – it reminds me of walking among the blooming lilacs at the Jardin Botanique in Montréal, and you all know how much I love a good olfactory memory.  Also: if there’s musk in this scent I cannot sense it, and that’s a good thing since musk tends to take a note from patchouli and try to overpower me whenever I wear it.

I’d recommend Lilac Path for anyone who’s ever wished that they could rub themselves with lilac flowers and come away smelling as gorgeous as a late-spring evening.

Leave a Reply

