30 Days of Scent – Day Twelve – Oranges and Lemons, Say The Bells of St. Clement’s by James Heeley   Leave a comment

Last Wednesday, I wore Oranges and Lemons, Say The Bells of St. Clement’s (hereafter Oranges and Lemons) by James Heeley.  It’s a decant I bought from The Perfumed Court as part of a pack of different James Heeley fragrances.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of Oranges and Lemons as citrus, aromatic, green, woody, and fresh.  Their description of the scent says that “…Oranges and Lemons Say The Bells of St. Clements Was introduced in 2010, made of refreshing notes of bergamot, lemon, orange, mandarin, neroli, petit grain, Earl Grey tea, ylang-ylang and vetiver…

One of the things I really like about James Heeley fragrances is that the bulk of them are intended to be for all genders (or, as most people say, “unisex”).  There’s a stereotype out there, even now, that women’s scents should be of a certain composition and men’s should be of another, and ne’er the twain shall meet…and it’s such bullshit when you think about how fragrance actually works.  One’s skin chemistry is not another’s, and it shouldn’t be a big deal if leather and tobacco work on me while vanilla and iris work on one of my male partners.

So, Oranges and Lemons is a scent I can see working on a number of people for different reasons.  When I tried it, I was hoping to get the Earl Grey tea notes, with bergamot and lemon; instead, I got orange and neroli, vetiver and lemon, and a hint of ylang-ylang.  This is not a bad thing, per se, but it isn’t really what I expected.  On me, there’s no tea at all, and there’s some bitterness that is really interesting, like biting into the rind of the orange itself.  I like it, but in a way that makes me think I won’t put it into my regular rotation – this is a scent for an occasion rather than for daily wear.  I won’t toss it, but the decant will probably last for quite some time.

Although, now that I think about it, I wonder if it would work on my son?  He’s still searching for a scent to call his own now that he’s old enough to be out of the Axe phase.  Maybe it is time for a decant or two in his stocking.

Leave a Reply

