30 Days of Scent – Day Sixteen – L’Ombre dans L’Eau by Diptyque   Leave a comment

Last Tuesday, I wore L’Ombre dans L’Eau by Diptyque.  It’s a decant I received from a reader, along with a number of other Diptyque fragrances, and it came from The Perfumed Court.

Fragrantica.com lists the main accords of L’Ombre dans L’Eau as green, aromatic, fruity, rose, and soft spicy.  Their description of this scent states that “L’Ombre Dans L’Eau (“Shadow in the water”) is a female fragrance from 1983, based on the unusual and beautiful harmony of black currant leaf and Bulgarian rose, which blend perfectly together. This perfume was created by Serge Kalouguine, a famous French perfumer who dedicated 30 years of his life to the house of Fragonard…

I wish L’Ombre dans L’Eau smelled like its description – rose with black currant leaf sounds like a lovely, if heady, combination.  Unfortunately, this scent leaves much to be desired – it smells like a quintessential 80s department store and much as I loved shopping with my friends, we almost never stuck around the perfume counters in Strawbridge’s (formerly Strawbridge & Clothier) for exactly this reason.

(I also want to point out here that the demise of Strawbridge’s is exactly why I hate Macy’s and refuse to shop there…and I suspect there are Marshall Field’s fans out there who agree with me.  But, I digress.)

On me, L’Ombre dans L’Eau is all aromatic and no floral, despite the manufacturer’s description of what this scent is supposed to be.  I get no greenery, and no rose, although there is a hint of rising sap among the other notes.  Whatever is in the base takes hold of my skin and doesn’t let go…but as Diptyque hasn’t cancelled it I can only assume that there are people out there who get from it the thing I don’t, and that there are enough of them to make production profitable.

Leave a Reply

